Different OSI Layers………

The OSI Reference Model includes seven layers. Basic functionality of each of them is as follows:

1. Physical Layer: Controls the transmission of the actual data onto the network cable. It defines the electrical signals, line states and encoding of the data and the connector types used. An example is 10BaseT.

2. Data-Link Layer: This layer takes the data frames or messages from the Network Layer and provides for their actual transmission. At the receiving computer, this layer receives the incoming data and sends it to the network layer for handling. The Data-Link Layer also provides error-free delivery of data between the two computers by using the physical layer. It does this by packaging the data from the Network Layer into a frame, which includes error detection information. At the receiving computer, the Data-Link Layer reads the incoming frame, and generates its own error detection information based on the received frames data. After receiving the entire frame, it then compares its error detection value with that of the incoming frames, and if they match, the frame has been received correctly.

3. Network Layer: This is responsible for addressing messages and data so they are sent to the correct destination, and for translating logical addresses and names (like a machine name FLAME) into physical addresses. This layer is also responsible for finding a path through the network to the destination computer.

4. Transport Layer: Ensures that data is delivered error free, in sequence and with no loss, duplications or corruption. This layer also repackages data by assembling long messages into lots of smaller messages for sending, and repackaging the smaller messages into the original larger message at the receiving end.

5. Session Layer: Allows two applications to establish, use and disconnect a connection between them called a session. Provides for name recognition and additional functions like security, which are needed to allow applications to communicate over the network.

6. Presentation Layer: Determines the format used to exchange data among networked computers.

7. Application Layer: Provides Applications with access to network services.



About Dinesh

I am engineering student........ I am selected in Microsoft Student Partner as MSP............

Posted on January 1, 2011, in Knowledge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: